Yes, the bank should use expansionary monetary policy.
When the economy is in recession and the produces less than its potential GDP, then expansionary fiscal policy is most suitable. The contractionary fiscal policy reduces the aggregate demand by either cutting government expenditure or raising the taxes.
During difficult economic circumstances, the central bank may use the expansionary monetary policy to reduce the unemployment and stimulate growth. It normally does so by decreasing its benchmark federal funds rate, or the interest rate at which banks lend to one another to meet reserve requirements.
Therefore, the answer is yes.
To know more about monetary policy click here:
https://brainly.com/question/13926715
#SPJ1
According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, there are about 3 million temp employees in the U.S. out of 150 million employees overall. What percentage of workers are temporary workers?
Answer:2%
Explanation:
Answer:2%
Explanation:
Tanek Industries manufactures and sells three different models of wet-dry shop vacuum cleaners. Although the shop vacs vary in terms of quality and features, all are good sellers. Tanek is currently operating at full capacity with limited machine time. Sales and production information relevant to each model follows.
Economy Standard Deluxe
Selling price $32 $53 $106
Variable costs and expenses $17 $21 $50
Machine hours required 0.5 0.8 1.6
Required:
a. Calculate contribution margin per unit.
b. What is the contribution margin per unit of limited resource for each product?
Answer and Explanation:
The computation is shown below:
a. The contribution margin per unit is
As we know that
Contribution margin per unit = Selling price - variable cost
So
For economy, it is
= $32 - $17
= $15
For standard, it is
= $53 - $21
= $32
For deluxe, it is
= $106 - $50
= $56
b. Now the contribution margin per unit of limited resources is
For economy, it is
= $15 ÷ 0.5
= $30
For standard, it is
= $32 ÷ 0.8
= $40
For deluxe, it is
= $56 ÷ 1.6
= $35
(Ratio Computations and Effect ofTransactions)
Presented below is information related to Carver Inc.
CARVER INC.
Balance Sheet
December 31, 2007
Cash $45,000 Notes payable (short-term) $50,000
Receivables $110,000 Accounts payable 32,000
Less: Allowance
15,000
95,000 Accrued liabilities 5,000
Inventories 170,000 Capital stock (par $5) 260,000
Prepaid insurance 8,000 Retained earnings 141,000
Land 20,000
Equipment (net)
150,000
$488,000
$488,000
CARVER INC.
Income Statement
For the year ended December31, 2007
Sales $1,400,000
Cost of goods sold
Inventory, Jan. 1, 2007 $200,000
Purchases
790,000
Cost of goods available forsale 990,000
Inventory, Dec. 31,2007
170,000
Cost of goods sold
820,000
Gross profit on sales 580,000
Operating expenses
170,000
Net income
$410,000
Instructions
(a) Compute the following ratios orrelationships of Carver Inc. Assume that the ending accountbalances are representative unless the information providedindicates differently. (Round answers to 2 decimalplaces.)
Current ratio. times
Inventory turnover. times
Receivables turnover. times
Earnings per share. $
Profit margin on sales. %
Rate of return on assets on December 31, 2007. %
(b) Indicate for each of the followingtransactions whether the transaction would improve, weaken, or haveno effect on the current ratio of Carver Inc. at December 31,2007.
Write off an uncollectible account receivable, $2,200.
Purchase additional capital stock for cash.
Pay $40,000 on notes payable (short-term).
Collect $23,000 on accounts receivable.
Buy equipment on account.
Give an existing creditor a short-term note in settlement ofaccount.
Answer:
Carver Inc.
a. Ratio Analysis:
Current ratio = Current assets/Current liabilities
= $318,000/87,000
= 3.66 times
Inventory turnover = cost of goods sold/average inventory
= $820,000/$185,000
= 4.43 times
Receivable turnover = Sales/Receivables
= $1,400,000/$95,000
= 14.74 times
Earnings per share = Net income/No. of shares
= $410,000/52,000
= $7.88 per share
Profit margin on sales = Net Income/Sales * 100
= $410,000/$1,400,000 * 100
= 29.29%
Rate of return on assets = Net income/Total assets * 100
= $410,000/$488,000 * 100
= 84.02%
b) Indication of whether the transaction would improve, weaken, or have no effect on the current ratio of Carver Inc. at December 31,2007:
1. weaken
2. weaken
3. no effect
4. no effect
5. weaken
6. no effect
Explanation:
a) Data and Calculations:
CARVER INC.
Balance Sheet
December 31, 2007
Cash $45,000 Notes payable (short-term) $50,000
Receivables $110,000 Accounts payable 32,000
Less: Allowance 15,000 95,000 Accrued liabilities 5,000
Inventories 170,000 Capital stock (par $5) 260,000
Prepaid insurance 8,000 Retained earnings 141,000
Land 20,000
Equipment (net) 150,000
$488,000 $488,000
CARVER INC.
Income Statement
For the year ended December 31, 2007
Sales $1,400,000
Cost of goods sold
Inventory, Jan. 1, 2007 $200,000
Purchases 790,000
Cost of goods
available for sale 990,000
Inventory, Dec. 31,2007 170,000
Cost of goods sold 820,000
Gross profit on sales 580,000
Operating expenses 170,000
Net income $410,000
Castle, Inc., has no debt outstanding and a total market value of $150,000. Earnings before interest and taxes, EBIT, are projected to be $28,000 if economic conditions are normal. If there is strong expansion in the economy, then EBIT will be 20 percent higher. If there is a recession, then EBIT will be 25 percent lower. The firm is considering a debt issue of $60,000 with an interest rate of 7 percent. The proceeds will be used to repurchase shares of stock. There are currently 10,000 shares outstanding. Ignore taxes for questions a and b. Assume the stock price remains constant.
Assume the firm has a tax rate of 35 percent.
c-1. Calculate return on equity (ROE) under each of the three economic scenarios before any debt is issued. (Do not round intermediate calculations. Enter your answers as a percent rounded to 2 decimal places, e.g., 32.16.)
ROE
Recession %
Normal %
Expansion %
c-2. Calculate the percentage changes in ROE when the economy expands or enters a recession. (A negative answer should be indicated by a minus sign. Do not round intermediate calculations. Enter your answers as a percent rounded to the nearest whole number, e.g., 32.)
% change in ROE
Recession %
Expansion %
c-3. Calculate the return on equity (ROE) under each of the three economic scenarios assuming the firm goes through with the recapitalization. (Do not round intermediate calculations. Enter your answers as a percent rounded to 2 decimal places, e.g., 32.16.)
ROE
Recession %
Normal %
Expansion %
c-4. Given the recapitalization, calculate the percentage changes in ROE when the economy expands or enters a recession.(A negative answer should be indicated by a minus sign. Do not round intermediate calculations. Enter your answers as a percent rounded to 2 decimal places, e.g., 32.16.)
% change in ROE
Recession %
Expansion %
Answer:
c-1. ROE under Recession = 8.34%; ROE under Normal = 10.82%; and ROE under Expansion = 12.71%.
c-2. % change in ROE under Recession = -22.91%; and % change in ROE under Expansion = 17.46%.
c-3. ROE under Recession = 10.82%; ROE under Normal = 14.67%; and ROE under Expansion = 17.51%.
c-4. % change in ROE under Recession = -26.23%; and % change in ROE under Expansion = 19.41%
Explanation:
c-1. Calculate return on equity (ROE) under each of the three economic scenarios before any debt is issued. (Do not round intermediate calculations. Enter your answers as a percent rounded to 2 decimal places, e.g., 32.16.)
Note: See part 1 of the attached excel file for the calculations of Net Income, Shareholders' Equity, and return on equity (ROE) under each of the three economic scenarios before any debt is issued.
In the attached excel file, return on equity (ROE) is calculated using the following formula:
ROE = (Net income / Shareholders' Equity) * 100
After applying the ROE formula, the following are then obtained:
ROE under Recession = 8.34%
ROE under Normal = 10.82%
ROE under Expansion = 12.71%
c-2. Calculate the percentage changes in ROE when the economy expands or enters a recession. (A negative answer should be indicated by a minus sign. Do not round intermediate calculations. Enter your answers as a percent rounded to the nearest whole number, e.g., 32.)
Note: See part 1 of the attached excel file for the calculations of the percentage changes in ROE when the economy expands or enters a recession.
In the attached excel file, percentage changes in ROE is calculated as follows:
Percentage change in ROE = (ROE under recession/expansion - ROE under Normal) / ROE under Normal
After applying the Percentage change in ROE formula, the following are then obtained:
% change in ROE under Recession = -22.91%
% change in ROE under Expansion = 17.46%
c-3. Calculate the return on equity (ROE) under each of the three economic scenarios assuming the firm goes through with the recapitalization. (Do not round intermediate calculations. Enter your answers as a percent rounded to 2 decimal places, e.g., 32.16.)
Note: See part 2 of the attached excel file for the calculations of Net Income, Shareholders' Equity, and return on equity (ROE) under each of the three economic scenarios assuming the firm goes through with the recapitalization.
In the attached excel file, return on equity (ROE) is calculated using the following formula:
ROE = (Net income / Shareholders' Equity) * 100
After applying the ROE formula, the following are then obtained:
ROE under Recession = 10.82%
ROE under Normal = 14.67%
ROE under Expansion = 17.51%
c-4. Given the recapitalization, calculate the percentage changes in ROE when the economy expands or enters a recession.(A negative answer should be indicated by a minus sign. Do not round intermediate calculations. Enter your answers as a percent rounded to 2 decimal places, e.g., 32.16.)
Note: See part 2 of the attached excel file for the calculations of the percentage changes in ROE when the economy expands or enters a recession.
In the attached excel file, percentage changes in ROE is calculated as follows:
Percentage change in ROE = (ROE under recession/expansion - ROE under Normal) / ROE under Normal
After applying the Percentage change in ROE formula, the following are then obtained:
% change in ROE under Recession = -26.23%
% change in ROE under Expansion = 19.41%
On January 1, 2020, Stream Company acquired 30 percent of the outstanding voting shares of Q-Video, Inc., for $770,000. Q-Video manufactures specialty cables for computer monitors. On that date, Q-Video reported assets and liabilities with book values of $1.9 million and $700,000, respectively. A customer list compiled by Q-Video had an appraised value of $300,000, although it was not recorded on its books. The expected remaining life of the customer list was five years with straight-line amortization deemed appropriate. Any remaining excess cost was not identifiable with any particular asset and thus was considered goodwill. Q-Video generated net income of $250,000 in 2020 and a net loss of $100,000 in 2021. In each of these two years, Q-Video declared and paid a cash dividend of $15,000 to its stockholders. During 2020, Q-Video sold inventory that had an original cost of $100,000 to Stream for $160,000. Of this balance, $80,000 was resold to outsiders during 2020, and the remainder was sold during 2021. In 2021, Q-Video sold inventory to Stream for $175,000. This inventory had cost only $140,000. Stream resold $100,000 of the inventory during 2021 and the rest during 2022. For 2020 and then for 2021, compute the amount that Stream should report as income from its investment in Q-Video in its external financial statements under the equity method. (Enter your answers in whole dollars and not in millions. Do not round intermediate calculations.)
Answer:
Stream Company
The amount that Stream Company should report as income from its investment in Q-Video in its external financial statements under the equity method:
2020 = $75,000
2021 = ($30,000)
Explanation:
a) Data and Calculations:
Equity share in Q-Video, Inc. = 30%
Cost of equity investment = $770,000
Q-Video Profits and dividends Stream's share
2020 net income = $250,000 $75,000 ($250,000 * 30%)
2021 net loss of $100,000 ($30,000) ($100,000 * 30%)
2020 dividends = $15,000 $4,500 ($15,000 * 30%)
2021 dividends = $15,000 $4,500 ($15,000 * 30%)
b)The equity method is used by Stream Company because its investment in Q-Video, Inc. is less than 51% and more than 20%. Under the equity method, Stream accounts for its share of net income and net loss. The investment is initially recorded at cost. Adjustments are then made to the cost balance at the end of every period by increasing it with the share of net income and decreasing it with its share of net loss and dividends received.
Swifty Company showed the following balances at the end of its first year: Cash $3930 Prepaid insurance 6910 Accounts receivable 4990 Accounts payable 3960 Notes payable 5930 Owner’s Capital 2090 Owner’s Drawings 960 Revenues 32100 Expenses 24800 What did Swifty Company show as total credits on its trial balance? a. $44080 b. $49070 c. $45040 d. $9390
Answer:
$44,080
Explanation:
The total credit for swifty company can be calculated as follows
Account payable + notes payable + common stock + revenue
= 3960 + 5930 + 2090 + 32100
= 44,080
Hence the total credits is $44,080
The quantity of a good demanded rises from 90 units to 110 units when the price falls from $1.20 to $.80 per unit. The price elasticity of demand for this product approximates
Answer:
PED = -0.67 or |0.67| in absolute terms, price inelastic
Explanation:
price elasticity of demand = percentage change in quantity demanded / percentage change in price
percentage change in quantity demanded = (110 - 90) / 90 = 22.22%
percentage change in price = ($0.80 - $1.20) / $1.20 = -33.33%
PED = 22.22% / -33.33% = -0.67 or |0.67| in absolute terms, price inelastic
On January 1, 2020, HD Corp. paid $60,000 and issued a 5-year noninterest bearing note payable with a face value of $120,000 in exchange for a piece of equipment. The applicable interest rate is 8%. HD Corp depreciates over a straight-line basis and utilizes the effective interest method to record interest expense. The equipment is expected to be in service for 8-years at which point it will be worthless.
Required:
What is the carrying value of the note payable on 12/31/2021?
a. $120,000
b. $88,204
c. $75.136
d. $95.260
e. $89,335
Answer:
b. $88,204
Explanation:
The computation of the carrying value of the note payable is shown below:
= Present value of the notes + interest
= $120,000 × 0.680583 + ($120,000 × 0.680583 × 8%)
= $81,670 + $6,534
= $88,204
hence, the second option is correct
The choice of how much to produce depends on a variety of factors. One of the important factors is the cost of production. Two very important components of the cost of production are resource (input) price and technology.Draw a new supply curve that illustrates changes in supply when the production rise because price have increased and available technology has made production more expensive.
Answer:
Following are the solution to the given question:
Explanation:
Please find the graph image in th e attachment file.
In the question, it increases the manufacturing prices, which raises the corporation's expenditures, which increases the material production, mostly as a result of a decline in business production of materials, which will cause the aggregate demand through S to S' to be moved to the left.
A commercial cleaning company spends an average of $500 per year, per customer, in supplies, wages, and account maintenance. An average customer generates $1,000 in revenue per year. Assuming a discount rate of 12% and an annual retention rate of 80%, what is the best estimate for the lifetime value of an average customer using the simplified customer lifetime value (CLV) equation presented in the core reading?
Answer:
$1,250
Explanation:
Calculation for what is the best estimate for the lifetime value of an average customer using the simplified customer lifetime value (CLV) equation
Using this formula
Customer lifetime value (CLV) = r / (1 + i - r)
Let plug in the formula for
Customer lifetime value (CLV) = 0.8 / (1 + 0.12 - 0.8)
Customer lifetime value (CLV) = 2.5
Customer lifetime value (CLV) =($1,000-$5,00)× 2.5
Customer lifetime value (CLV) = $500 x 2.5
Customer lifetime value (CLV) = $1,250
Therefore the best estimate for the lifetime value of an average customer using the simplified customer lifetime value (CLV) equation will be $1,250
The Mixing Department of Premium Foods had 50,000 equivalent units of materials for October. Of the 50,000 units, 25,000 units were completed and transferred to the next department, and 25,000 units were 35% complete. Premium Foods's costs per equivalent unit of production are $0.96 for direct materials and $0.70 for conversion costs. All of the materials are added at the beginning of the process. Conversion costs are added evenly throughout the process and the company uses the weighted-average method.Calculate the cost of the 25,000 units completed and transferred out and the 25,000 units, 35% complete, in the ending Work-in-Process Inventory.
Answer:
Explanation:
The computation of the cost of 25,000 units completed and transferred out is shown below;
( in $)
Costs Direct materials Conversion costs Total costs
Cost accounted for
completed
and transferred
out 24,000 17,500 41,500
(25,000 × $0.96) (25,000 × $0.70)
Ending
work in
process 24,000 6,125 30,125
(25,000 × $0.96) (25,000 × $0.96 × 35%)
Total cost
accounted for 48,000 23,625 71,625
Suppose that a young couple has just had their first baby and they wish to ensure that enough money will be available to pay for their child's college education. Currently, college tuition, books, fees, and other costs average $8,000 per year. On average, tuition and other costs have historically increased at a rate of 2% per year. Assuming that college costs continue to increase an average of 2% per year and that all her college savings are invested in an account paying 10% interest, then the amount of money she will need to have available at age 18 to pay for all four years of her undergraduate education is closest to
A. $37.232.13
B. $40,955.35
C. $42.952,46
D. $11.425,97
Answer:
B. $40,955.35
Explanation:
The computation of the amount that need to pay is shown below:
The Amount needed at 18 age is
= Present value of all future expenses
= $8000 × (1.02)^18 + $8,000 × (1.02)^19 ÷ 1.1 +$ 8000 × (1.02)^20 ÷ (1.1)^2 + $8,000 × (1.02)^21 ÷ (1.1)^3
= $11,425.6 + 10,594.98 + 9,824.44 + 9,109.39
= $40,954.95
It is nearest to option B
Use the following information to compute the cost of direct materials used for the current year. Assume the raw materials inventory account is used only for direct materials. (Assume no indirect materials.) January 1 December 31
January 1 December 31
Inventories
Raw materials inventory $6,000 7,500
Work in process inventory 12,000 9,000
Finished goods inventory 8,500 5,500
Activity during the current year
Materials purchased $123,500
Direct labor 94,000
Factory overhead 39,000
Answer:
the direct material used is $122,000
Explanation:
The computation of the direct material used is shown below:
= Opening raw material inventory + material purchased - ending raw material inventory
= $6,000 + $123,500 - $7,500
= $122,000
Hence, the direct material used is $122,000
For each of the following transactions for the Sky Blue Corporation, give the accounting equation effects of the adjustments required at the end of the month on October 31. (Enter any decreases to Assets, Liabilities, or Stockholders' Equity with a minus sign)
a. Collected $2,220 rent for the period October 1 to December 31, which was credited to Unearned Revenue on October 1.
b. Paid $1,056 for a two-year insurance premium on October 1 and debited Prepaid Insurance for that amount.
c. Used a machine purchased on October 1 for $40,800. The company estimates annual depreciation of $4,080.
Answer:
The response the given points can be defined as follows:
Explanation:
[tex]Transaction \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ Assets \ \ = \ \ Liabilities \ \ + \ \ \ \ Stockholder's \ \ Equity[/tex]
For point a. -740 + 740
For point b. -44 + -44
For point c. 340 + -340
For point a:
The money received for 3 months is again transferred to rent for one month [tex]( \frac{\$2200}{3})[/tex] . Account for sales.
For point b:
Payment of prepaid insurance for 2 years (24 months), hence one month's costs for insurance[tex]( \frac{\$1056}{24})[/tex] the cost of the insurance shall be shifted.
For point c:
One month [tex]( \frac{\$4080}{12})[/tex]depreciation expenses are moved to Depreciation Costs and depreciation accrued.
Prepare Two Column Cash Book from the following transactions and balance the book on 31st Jan., 2021:-
2021
Jan. 1
Cash in hand 50,000; Bank overdraft 1,90,000.
Jan. 2
Purchased goods from Rajesh Kumar of the list price of 50,000 at 5% trade discount and payment made by cheque.
Jan. 6
Goods sold for 80,000 and payment received by cheque. Cheque deposited into Bank on same day.
Jan. 10
Goods purchased for cash 19,800.
Jan. 15
Furniture sold for 1,77,000 and payment received by cheque & cheque deposited into Bank on same day.
Jan. 18
Salaries paid 4,500.
Jan. 21
Settled the amount due to Ram 2,000 by paying cash 1,910.
Jan. 22
Cash received from Jai 14,780 in full settlement of his account of 15,000.
Jan. 23
Paid Life Insurance premium 1,500.
Jan. 31
Deposited with bank the entire balance after retaining 7,000 cash in hand.
Answer:
On January 21, Balance c/d are:
Cash = $7,000
Bank = $49,570
Explanation:
Note: See the attached excel file for the Two Column Cash Book.
Also note the following in the attached Two Column Cash Book:
(1) Jan. 1 Bank overdraft 1,90,000 is recorded in the Two Column Cash Book as 190,000 to correct the error in the figure.
(2) Jan. 15 Furniture sold for 1,77,000 is recorded in the Two Column Cash Book as 177,000 to correct the error in the figure.
(3) Jan. 18 Salaries paid 4,500 is assumed to be paid by cheque since no specific form of payment in indicated.
(4) Jan. 23 Paid Life Insurance premium 1,500 is assumed to be paid by cheque since no specific form of payment in indicated.
(5) VN represents Voucher Number.
(5) PR represents Posting Reference.
(6) C represents Contra entry.
(7) The Jan. 31 Bank and Cash (C) of $36,070 which is the entire balance deposited with bank after retaining 7,000 cash in hand is obtained as follows:
Entire balance deposited with bank = Total cash received - Total cash paid - $7,000 retained = $64,780 - ($19,800 + $1,910) - $7,000 = $36,070
(8) Balance c/d represents Balance carried down.
(8) Balance b/d represents Balance brought down.
The Manda Panda Company uses the allowance method to account for bad debts. At the beginning of 2009, the allowance account had a credit balance of $75,000. Credit sales for 2009 totaled $2,400,000 and the year-end accounts receivable balance was $490,000. During this year, $73,000 in receivables were determined to be uncollectible. Manda Panda anticipates that 3% of all credit sales will ultimately become uncollectible. The fiscal year ends on December 31.
Required:
1. Does this situation describe a loss contingency? Explain.
2. What is the bad debt expense that Manda Panda should report in its 2009 income statement?
3. Prepare the appropriate journal entry to record the contingency.
4. What is the net realizable value (book value) Manda Panda should report in its 2009 balance sheet?
Answer:
The Manda Panda Company
1. This is not a loss contingency. A loss contingency refers to a probable payment that might result from an uncertain event.
2. The bad debt expense that Manda Panda should report in its 2009 income statement is $70,000 ($73,000 -$75,000 + $72,000).
3. Debit Allowance for Uncollectible accounts $3,000
Credit Bad Debts Expense $3,000
To reduce the allowance account from $75,000 to $72,000.
Debit Bad Debts Expense $73,000
Credit Accounts Receivable account $73,000
To write-off the bad debts.
4. The net realizable value of accounts receivable is $418,000 ($490,000 - 72,000)
Explanation:
a) Data and Calculations:
Allowance for Uncollectible account (credit balance) = $75,000
Credit sales for 2009 = $2.4 million
Year-end Accounts Receivable = $490,000
Bad Debts = $73,000
Estimated allowance for Uncollectible = 3% of all credit sales (3% of $2.4 million) = $72,000
b) A contingency loss requires that a liability be created to account for the loss. This is not the case with making allowances for uncollectible accounts or writing off bad debts. There is no need to create a liability account since no payment will eventually be made to settle any liability in the future.
Match each of the options above to the items below.
a. Revenues, expenses. and dividends,
b. List of permanent accounts and their balances.
c. Transfer of temporary balances to retained earnings.
d. List of permanent and temporary accounts and thejr balances.
e. Assets, liabilities, and stockholders' equity
1. Adjusted Trjal balance
2. Post-closing trial balance
3. Permanent accounts
4. Temporary accounts
5. Closing entries
Answer:
a. Revenues, expenses. and dividends - Temporary accounts
b. List of permanent accounts and their balances - Post-closing trial balance
c. Transfer of temporary balances to retained earnings - Closing entries
d. List of permanent and temporary accounts and their balances - Adjusted trial balance
e. Assets, liabilities, and stockholders' equity - Permanent accounts
A group of middle school students wants to raise money to help build a new school track. They decided to sell donuts before school. Demand is 275 donuts when the donuts are given away free, and the demand drops to 175 donuts when the price is 25 cents per donut. However, the middle school administration is prepared to supply only 150 donuts free of charge but will supply 200 donuts when the price is 50 cents per donut. Assume that the demand and supply functions are both linear functions. What price should the students charge per donut so that there is neither a surplus nor a shortage of donuts
Answer:
25 cent/donuts
Explanation:
Demand function have these two points (275, 0), (175, 25)
Demand function equation:
y - 25 = [tex]\frac{25 - 0}{175-275}[/tex] (x-175)
-100y + 2500 = (x - 175)
-4y + 100 = x - 175
x + 4y = 100 + 175
x + 4y = 275....................equ 1
Similarly Supply function have these point (150,0), (200, 50)
Supply function equation:
y - 50 = [tex]\frac{50 - 0}{200-150}[/tex](x- 200)
50y - 2500 = x - 200
y - 50 = x - 200
x - y = 200 - 150
x - y = 150
By equation 1 & 2
x + 4y = 275
x - y = 150 ==> x = 150+y
So from equ 1 => x + 4y = 275
=> 150+y+4y = 275
=> 150+5y = 275
=> 5y = 275 - 150
=> 5y = 125
=> y = 25
So, the price that the students should charge per donut so that there is neither a surplus nor a shortage of donuts is 25 cent/donuts
Solve each of the following three problems, all of which involve borrowing money from a bank with an APR of 6.5% compounded annually. Look carefully at how the problems differ from one another, in spite of appearing similar. In your solutions, say a few words explaining how you can tell which is the appropriate formula to apply in each case.
a. Suppose that you borrow $1000 once per year, beginning today, and ending 10 years from now (so you borrow your last $1000 on the ten year anniversary of today’s date). How much will your total debt be at the end of the 10th year?b. Suppose that you borrow $10,000 today. You repay the loan over the course of ten years, making a payment every year on the anniversary of today’s date. The first payment will be one year from today, and the last payment will be ten years from today. How much should each payment be?c. Suppose that you borrow $10,000 today, and repay the loan all at once, on the ten year anniversary of today’s date. How much will you have to repay on that date?
Answer:
a. The formula is annuity immediate. This requires annual addition at the end of each period. The total debt at the end of the 10th year is $16,248.70.
b. Amortized loan repayment is applicable here since the loan and interest are repaid every year. Therefore, the payment every year is: $1,391.05.
c. The compound interest formula is used here since the interest accumulates annually but repayment of loan is due at the end of 10 years. The total debt due for repayment at the end of the 10th year is $18,771.37.
Explanation:
1. Data and Calculations:
Starting Principal = $1000
Annual Addition = $1000
Annual interest rate = 6.5%
Period of loan = 10 years
The formula is annuity immediate. This requires annual addition at the end of each period.
Using the annuity calculator for annual addition at the end of each period, the loan's:
End Balance $16,248.70
Total Principal $11,000.00
Total Interest $5,248.70
2. Starting Principal = $10,000
Annual interest rate = 6.5%
Period of loan = 10 years
Amortized loan repayment is applicable here since the loan and interest are repaid every year. Therefore, the payment every year is: $1,391.05
Total of 10 Payments $13,910.47
Total Interest $3,910.47
3. Starting Principal = $10,000
Annual interest rate = 6.5%
Period of loan = 10 years
Compound interest formula is used here since the interest accumulates annually but repayment of loan is due at the end of 10 years.
Using an online financial calculator, the future debt will total $18,771.37 with a total compounded interest of $8,771.37 ($18,771.37 - $10,000).
FV = $18,771.37
Total Interest $8,771.37
Effective April 1, 2016. The Syracuse Corporation, which has a year- end of December 31st, authorized $1.500.000 of callable, mortgage bonds (secured by $2,200,000 of property and equipment, at market value). The bonds paid interest at a rate of eight percent per year and had a term of six years. Interest was payable each September 30th and March 31. On July 1, 2017, Syracuse issued 1,000 of the bonds in exchange for cash in the total amount of $906,000. On October 1, 2019, Syracuse called the bonds and paid the current bondholders $1,150,000 in cash. Prepare the journal entries related to the bonds that the corporation entered into its records during the period April 1, 2016 through December 31, 2017 In addition, prepare the journal entry that was recorded when the bonds were redeemed in October 2019.
Answer:
April 1 2016
No Entry
July 1, 2017
Dr Cash $906,000
Dr Discount on bonds payable $94,000
Cr Bonds payable $1,000,000
Sep 30 2017
Dr Interest Expense $23,917
Cr Discount on bonds payable $3,917
Cr Cash $20,000
Dec 31,2017
Dr Interest Expense $23,917
Cr Discount on bonds payable $3,917
Cr Interest payable $20,000
October 1 2019
Dr Bonds payable $1,000,000
Dr Loss on early extinguishment of bonds $208,750
Cr Discount on bonds payable $58,750
Cr Cash $1,150,000
Explanation:
Preparation of the journal entries related to the bonds that the corporation entered into its records during the period April 1, 2016 through December 31, 2017
April 1 2016
No Entry
July 1, 2017
Dr Cash $906,000
Dr Discount on bonds payable $94,000
($1,000,000-$906,000)
Cr Bonds payable $1,000,000
(Being to record issue bond for cash $906,000 and discount on bonds)
Sep 30 2017
Dr Interest Expense $23,917
[(1,000,000*8%*3/12)+($94,000/72months*3)]
(=$20,000+$3,917)
Cr Discount on bonds payable $3,917
($94,000/72months*3)
Cr Cash $20,000
(1,000,000*8%*3/12)
(Being to record interest paid and discount amortized)
Dec 31,2017
Dr Interest Expense $23,917
[(1,000,000*8%*3/12)+($94,000/72months*3)]
(=$20,000+$3,917)
Cr Discount on bonds payable $3,917
($94,000/72months*3)
Cr Interest payable $20,000
(1,000,000*8%*3/12)
(Being to record interest accrued and discount amortized)
Preparation of the journal entry that was recorded when the bonds were redeemed in October 2019
October 1 2019
Dr Bonds payable $1,000,000
Dr Loss on early extinguishment of bonds $208,750
($1,150,000+$58,750-$1,000,000)
Cr Discount on bonds payable $58,750
[$94,000-($94,000/72)*27]
($94,000-$35,250=$58,750)
Cr Cash $1,150,000
(Being to record Redemption of bonds and discount Amortized)
Capp Corporation is a wholesaler of industrial goods. Data regarding the store's operations follow:
•
Sales are budgeted at $260,000 for November, $270,000 for December, and $250,000 for January.
•
Collections are expected to be 60% in the month of sale, 39% in the month following the sale, and 1% uncollectible.
• The cost of goods sold is 60% of sales.
•
The company desires an ending merchandise inventory equal to 40% of the following month's cost of goods sold. Payment for merchandise is made in the month following the purchase.
• The November beginning balance in the accounts receivable account is $61,000.
• The November beginning balance in the accounts payable account is $248,000.
Required:
a.
Prepare a Schedule of Expected Cash Collections for November and December. (Omit the "$" sign in your response.)
November December
Sales
Schedule of Expected Cash Collection ---------------- -------------------
Accounts recievable -----------------
November Sales
December SALES ---------------
tOTAal Cash collection
b.
Prepare a Merchandise Purchases Budget for November and December. (Input all amounts as positive values. Omit the "$" sign in your response.)
November December
Budgeted cost of goods sold
deduct: Begining merchandise inventory
total needs
add: desired ending merchandise inventory
required purchase
Answer:
Sales are budgeted at $260,000 for November
Mayweather reports net income of $305,000 for the year ended December 31. It also reports $93,700 depreciation expense and a $10,000 loss on the sale of equipment. Its comparative balance sheet reveals a $40,200 increase in accounts receivable, a $10,200 decrease in prepaid expenses, a $15,200 increase in accounts payable, a $12,500 decrease in wages payable, a $75,000 increase in equipment, and a $100,000 decrease in notes payable. Calculate the net increase in cash for the year.
Answer:
206,400.00
Explanation:
Calculation for the net increase in cash for the year
Net Income 305,000
Adjustment to reconcile Net Income to Net Cash
Add:
Depreciation Expense 93,700
Loss on sale of equipment 10,000
Cash flow from Operations 408,700
(305,000+93,700+10,000)
Changes in Current Assets/Current Liabilities
Less Increase in Accounts Receivable (40,200)
Decrease in Prepaid Expenses 10,200
Increase in Accounts Payable 15,200
Less Decrease in Wages Payable (12,500) (27,300)
Net cash provided by operating activities 381,400
(408,700-27,300)
Cash flow from investing activities
Increase in equipment (75,000)
Net cash provided by investing activities (75,000)
Cash flow from financing activities
Decrease in Notes payable (100,000)
Net cash provided by financing activities (100,000)
Net Increase/(Decrease) in cash $206,400
Therefore the net increase in cash for the year will be $206,400
The following events apply to Montgomery Company for Year 1, its first year of operation: Received cash of $49,000 from the issue of common stock. Performed $68,000 of services on account. Incurred $10,500 of other operating expenses on account. Paid $41,000 cash for salaries expense. Collected $44,500 of accounts receivable. Paid a $5,000 dividend to the stockholders. Performed $11,500 of services for cash. Paid $7,500 of the accounts payable. Required a. Record the preceding transactions in general journal form. b. Post the entries to T-accounts and determine the ending balance in each account. c.
Answer:
Montgomery Company
a. Journal Entries
Account Title Debit Credit
Cash $49,000
Common stock $49,000
To record the issue of common stock for cash.
Accounts Receivable $68,000
Service Revenue $68,000
To record the performance of services on account.
Operating Expense $10,500
Accounts payable $10,500
To record operating expenses incurred on account.
Salaries Expense $41,000
Cash $41,000
To record the payment for salaries expense.
Cash $44,500
Accounts Receivable $44,500
To record cash collected on account.
Dividends $5,000
Cash $5,000
To record the payment of dividend to stockholders.
Cash $11,500
Service Revenue $11,500
To record the performance of services for cash.
Accounts payable $7,500
Cash $7,500
To record the payment on account.
b. T-accounts
Cash Account
Account Title Debit Credit
Common stock $49,000
Salaries expense $41,000
Accounts receivable 44,500
Dividends 5,000
Service revenue 11,500
Accounts payable 7,500
Balance 51,500
Totals $105,000 $105,000
Common Stock
Account Title Debit Credit
Cash $49,000
Accounts Receivable
Account Title Debit Credit
Service Revenue $68,000
Cash $44,500
Balance 23,500
Totals 68,000 68,000
Service Revenue
Account Title Debit Credit
Accounts receivable $68,000
Cash 11,500
Balance $79,500
Totals 79,500 79,500
Accounts Payable
Account Title Debit Credit
Operating Expense $10,500
Cash $7,500
Balance 3,000
Totals $10,500 $10,500
Operating Expense
Account Title Debit Credit
Accounts payable $10,500
Salaries Expense
Account Title Debit Credit
Cash $41,000
Dividends
Account Title Debit Credit
Cash $5,000
c. Trial Balance as of December 31, Year 1:
Account Title Debit Credit
Cash $51,500
Common stock $49,000
Accounts receivable 23,500
Service revenue 79,500
Accounts payable 3,000
Operating expense 10,500
Salaries expense 41,000
Dividends 5,000
Totals $131,500 $131,500
Explanation:
a) Transactions:
Received cash of $49,000 from the issue of common stock.
Performed $68,000 of services on account.
Incurred $10,500 of other operating expenses on account.
Paid $41,000 cash for salaries expense.
Collected $44,500 of accounts receivable.
Paid a $5,000 dividend to the stockholders.
Performed $11,500 of services for cash.
Paid $7,500 of the accounts payable.
b) Journal entries record the transactions for the first time. General ledger accounts are where the accounts are summarized. Trial balance shows the list of the account balances extracted from the general ledger.
The following
expenditures are
allowable deductions for
business purposes except
A advertisement in the print
media
B. cost of stationery
Closs on disposal of assets
D. provisional tax paid
Answer:
All of the basic expenses necessary to run a business are generally tax-deductible, including office rent, salaries, equipment and supplies, telephone and utility costs, legal and accounting services, professional dues, and subscriptions to business publications.
Explanation:
Option D is right my friend
if you like the ans plz mark me as brainleast...
Dawn, a sole proprietor, was engaged in a service business and reported her income on a cash basis. In 2018, she incorporated her business by transferring the assets of the business to a new corporation in return for all the stock in the corporation plus the corporation’s assumption of the liabilities of her proprietorship. All the receivables and the unpaid trade payables were transferred to the new corporation. The assets of the proprietorship had total basis of $125,000 and total fair market value of $300,000. The trade accounts payable assumed by the corporation totaled $35,000, and were for services rendered by third parties directly to customers of the business under Dawn’s supervision. The corporation also assumed a note payable to the bank, in the amount of $95,000. The note was issued for a loan used to purchase computers and other business equipment used in the business and transferred to the corporation.
a. Dawn has a taxable gain on the transfer of $5,000.
b. Dawn has a basis of $20,000 in the stock she receives.
c. Dawn has a basis of $10,000 in the stock she receives.
d. Dawn has a basis of $30,000 in the stock she receives.
e. Dawn has a basis of $235,000 in the stock she receives.
Answer:
d. Dawn has a basis of $30,000 in the stock she receives.
Explanation:
The computation is shown below:
= Total assets basis - total liabilities in terms of note payable
= $125,000 - $95,000
= $30,000
So Dawn has the basis of $30,000 in terms of the stock she received
Therefore the option d is correct
Identifying the Five Steps in the Revenue Recognition Process
Match each step 1 through 5 with the sales process described in a through e.
Step 1: identify contract(s) with customer.
Step 2: identify performance obligation(s) in the contract.
Step 3: determine transaction price.
Step 4: allocate transaction price to performance obligation(s).
Step 5: Recognize revenue when (or as) each performance obligation is satisfied through a transfer of control
a. The total price for the computer and two years of services is $800.
b. Customer takes possession of the computer and benefits from the data service over two years.
c. Customer will receive the computer immediately and will benefit from two years of data services for the tablet.
d. The standalone selling price of the computer is $500 and of the two-year service contract is $300.
e. Customer agrees to purchase one computer plus two years of data services for an agreed upon price.
Answer:
Step 1: Identify contract(s) with customer
Correct Match: Customer agrees to purchase one computer plus two years of data services for an agreed upon price.
Step 2: identify performance obligation(s) in the contract
Correct Match: Customer will receive the computer immediately and will benefit from two years of data services for the tablet.
Step 3: Determine transaction price
Correct Match: The total price for the computer and two years of services is $800.
Step 4: Allocate transaction price to performance obligation(s)
Correct Match: The standalone selling price of the computer is $500 and of the two-year service contract is $300.
Step 5: Recognize revenue when (or as) each performance obligation is satisfied through a transfer of control
Correct Match: Customer takes possession of the computer and benefits from the data service over two years.
Assume the following relationships for the Caulder Corp.: Sales/Total assets 1.7× Return on assets (ROA) 5.0% Return on equity (ROE) 13.0% Calculate Caulder's profit margin and debt-to-capital ratio assuming the firm uses only debt and common equity, so total assets equal total invested capital. Do not round intermediate calculations. Round your answers to two decimal places. Profit margin: % Debt-to-capital ratio: %
Answer:
Profit margin=3%
Debt-to-capital ratio: = 3.8%
Explanation:
Calculations for Profit margin % and Debt-to-capital ratio: %
Calculation for profit margin
Profit margin =.05/1.7
profit margin=0.03*100
profit margin=3%
Calculation for Debt-to-capital ratio using this formula
Debt-to-capital ratio= ROA * (1 / ROE)
Let plug in the formula
Debt-to-capital ratio = .05 * (1 / .013)
Debt-to-capital ratio = .05 *76.92
Debt-to-capital ratio= 3.8%
Therefore: Profit margin=3%
Debt-to-capital ratio = 3.8%
Consider a chemical factory that is situated next to a farm. Airborne emissions from the chemical factory damage crops on the farm. The marginal benefits of emissions to the factory and the marginal costs of damage to the farmer are as follows: Quantity of emissions (Q) 100 200 300 400 500 600 700 800 900 MB to factory 320 280 240 200 160 120 80 40 0 MC to farmer 110 130 150 170 190 210 230 250 270 Calculate the total net benefit to the farmer and factory at the economically and socially efficient quantity of emissions. A. $63000 B. $62000 C. $60750 D. $61000
Answer:
Marginal Benefits of Emissions
Total net benefit to the farmer and factory at the economically and socially efficient quantity of emissions is $30,000 when the quantity of emission is 200 tons.
Explanation:
a) Data and Calculations:
Quantity of Marginal Marginal Total Net Benefit
emissions (Q) Benefits Cost or Cost
100 320 110 21,000
200 280 130 30,000
300 240 150 27,000
400 200 170 12,000
500 160 190 -15,000
600 120 210 -54,000
700 80 230 -105,000
800 40 250 -168,000
900 0 270 -243,000
Which of the following is NOT a way to help you with time
management during a meeting?
O Check the clock frequently
O Ask for help resolving issues
O Ask attendees to help keep track of time
O Follow-up on issue you can solve immediately
Answer:
check the clock frequently
Post Adjusting Entries Post all adjusting entries to the t-accounts and calculate ending balances. Post the transactions in the order they appear in the journal entries.
Date Accounts and Explanation Debit Credit
Dec. 31 Salaries Expense 4,400
Salaries Payable 4,400
Date Accounts and Explanation Debit Credit
Dec. 31 Depreciation Expense - Furniture 100
Accumulated Depreciation - Furniture 100
Date Accounts and Explanation Debit Credit
Dec. 31 Insurance Expense 300
Prepaid Insurance 300
Date Accounts and Explanation Debit Credi
Dec. 31 Supplies Expense 110
Office Supplies 110
Date Accounts and Explanation Debit Credit
Dec. 31 Unearned Revenue 200
Service Revenue 200
Date Accounts and Explanation Debit Credit
Dec. 31 Accounts Receivable 700
Service Revenue 700
Answer:
Salaries expense Salaries payable
Debit Credit Debit Credit
4,400 4,400
Depreciation exp, furniture Accumulated dep, furniture
Debit Credit Debit Credit
100 100
Insurance expense Prepaid insurance
Debit Credit Debit Credit
300 300
Supplies expense Office supplies
Debit Credit Debit Credit
110 110
Unearned revenue Service revenue
Debit Credit Debit Credit
200 200
700
900
Accounts receivable
Debit Credit
700